Visit the Historic Churchville One-Room Schoolhouse
Step back in time with the schoolmarm during an authentic living history experience at the Churchville One-Room Schoolhouse! This historic structure (built circa 1846) is one of the few remaining one-room schoolhouses in Illinois on its original site and has undergone extensive restoration to make it ready for school groups and community programs. Owned by the city of Elmhurst and managed by the Elmhurst History Museum, this National Register of Historic Places property is now the setting for field trips for school, scout, and adult groups. Immersive history experiences featuring a 1910 schoolmarm give visitors the opportunity to experience how farm children from the DuPage area learned their daily lessons. Find out more about this engaging and interactive learning opportunity:
- School Groups: Submit an online form here.
- Scout or Adult Groups: Please contact Jessie Wandersee, Supervisor of Education Services, at 630-530-6879 or via e-mail at .
The Churchville Schoolhouse is located just north of Grand Avenue (the northern boundary of Elmhurst) at 3N784 Church Road in Bensenville.
Google Maps directions
Parking and Accessibility
Free on-site parking for buses and cars is available. The Schoolhouse is accessible to visitors with disabilities via a ramp at the rear of the building.
For school groups, the cost for a 2.5 hour (half-day) program is $5 per student.
Download the Brochure
Download the Churchville Schoolhouse Living History Program brochure.
History of the Churchville Schoolhouse
about this historic architectural and cultural treasure.